NLFPA names community award after former Vikings Hall of Famer Alan Page

John David Mercer, USA TODAY Sports Images

The award will recognize a player for his work in the community

Alan Page has long been an example of community involvement for the Minnesota Vikings and the NFL, and now the Hall of Fame defensive tackle is being honored with an award in his name by the NFL Players' Association.

The NFLPA announced it will name its weekly honors as the "Alan Page Community Award," calling it their highest honor.

Page played 15 seasons for Minnesota and the Chicago Bears and was a NFLPA player representative seven times. He was an NFLPA executive committee member from 1972-75.

Page's impact on his local community has been ongoing. He joined the legal profession after his playing days were over and was elected in 1992 to be an associate justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court. Page retired from the court in 2015 and has worked with the Alan Page Education Foundation, which "provides financial assistance and mentoring to minority students in exchange for their further commitment to community service."

Alan Page has been a stalwart for the players union since his early days as an Executive Committee member as well as a pioneer for social justice during his distinguished 23-year tenure on the Minnesota Supreme Court, NFLPA Executive Director DeMaurice Smith said in a statement. To this day, Alan continues to serve as a strong ambassador for not only the game of football, but also of the values that we all should hold true community service, leadership and philanthropy.

According to a statement released by the NFLPA: "Since 1967, the NFLPA has annually recognized one player who goes above and beyond to perform community service in his hometown and team city. Previously named after former NFL running back and Supreme Court Justice Byron Whizzer White, the APC Award will continue in this tradition, serving as the highest honor that the NFLPA can bestow upon a player."

The statement includes that "the APC awardee will be selected annually from among the 18 winners of the NFLPAs Community MVP program, which returns for its fifth season as one of the unions hallmark initiatives."