Vikings get to 53-man roster limit; release WR Kendall Wright, among others

Brad Rempel, USA TODAY Sports Images

The notable cuts as the Vikings got to the 53-man, regular-season roster limit were Brian Robison and Kendall Wright

The Minnesota Vikings announced their final cuts to get to the 53-man, regular-season roster limit on Saturday, with two veterans being the most notable of those released.

Minnesota cut defensive end Brian Robison, the team's longest-tenured player, and receiver Kendall Wright, who signed with the Vikings this offseason to add experience to the position.

Instead, Minnesota will go with 2017 draft pick Stacy Coley and Canadian Football League signee Brandon Zylstra behind the first three receivers in Stefon Diggs, Adam Thielen and Laquon Treadwell.

Robison was a tough decision as a longtime leader in the locker room, but Minnesota kept young ends Tashawn Bower and Stephen Weatherly along with a ninth defensive lineman in 2018 fourth-round draft pick Jalyn Holmes, who it's moving to defensive tackle.

In making the cut to 53, veteran cornerback Terence Newman announced his retirement and will join the coaching staff. Center Pat Elflein was activated from the physically-unable-to-perform list and linebacker Kentrell Brothers was placed on the reserve/suspended list. Brothers is suspended for the first four games of the season.

Six players (OL Josh Andrews, RB Mack Brown, CB Craig James, WR Tavarres King, S Tray Matthews, CB Horace Richardson) were released with an injury designation.

The rest of Saturday's cuts are: WR Jeff Badet, WR Chad Beebe, TE Blake Bell, LB Reshard Cliett, DT Curtis Cothran, LB Garret Dooley, C Cornelius Edison, G Colby Gossett, TE Tyler Hoppes, OT Storm Norton, DE Ifeadi Odenigbo, S Jack Tocho and DE Jonathan Wynn.