No ordinary Joe

In this week's Talk of Fame Network poll our listeners and readers believe that four Pro Bowls and 1980s NFL all-decade acclaim should be Joe Jacoby's ticket to Canton.

Joe Jacoby photo curtesy of Washington Redskins
Joe Jacoby photo curtesy of Washington Redskins

(Photo courtesy of the Washington Redskins)

Talk of Fame Network

Former Washington Redskins offensive tackle Joe Jacoby has waited 18 years for a call from Canton.

Listeners and readers of The Talk of Fame Network believe he has waited long enough.

We identified the five men on the list of 25 semifinalists for the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2016 who have waited the longest for enshrinement and asked our followers in last week’s poll which one deserves to be rewarded. In addition to Jacoby, we listed coach Don Coryell (26-year wait), running back Roger Craig (18 years), offensive tackle Mike Kenn (17 years) and linebacker Karl Mecklenburg (16 years)

Jacoby won by an overwhelming margin with 92.3 percent of the vote. Coryell was next with 3.6 percent of the vote , followed by Craig, Mecklenburg and Kenn, all in the 1.0s.

Jacoby was an original Hog on Washington teams that won three Super Bowls under Joe Gibbs in the 1980s and 1990s. Jacoby was an undrafted rookie free agent out of Louisville who not only made the Redskins in 1981 but became a starter in his first month in the NFL. He remained in the lineup for 13 seasons, helping the Redskins win five NFC East titles and four NFC crowns.

Jacoby played left tackle in an era with some of the best pass rushers in history – Lawrence Taylor, Reggie White, Bruce Smith, Derrick Thomas, Fred Dean and Chris Doleman, among others – and protected the blind side of three quarterbacks who would go on to win Super Bowls for the Redskins: Joe Theismann, Doug Williams and Mark Rypien.

Jacoby was voted to four Pro Bowls and was named to the NFL’s 1980s all-decade team and voted one of the 70 greatest Redskins of all time. He also played right tackle and guard toward the end of his career. If Jacoby is elected to the Hall of Fame, he would become the second Hog in Canton, joining guard Russ Grimm.