'83 Redskins voted best team never to win Super Bowl


(Photo courtesy of Washington Redskins)

Talk of Fame Network

In a stunning upset, the 1983 Washington Redskins outpolled the record-breaking and nearly undefeated 2007 New England Patriots as the best team NOT to win a Super Bowl championships.

Our listeners and readers backed the Redskins with 59.1% of the vote to the Patriots' 23.6% despite the fact New England was 18-0 and gunning for immortality when it lost the Super Bowl to the New York Giants, 17-14, when it took a David Tyree "helmet'' catch to make it possible.

Still, the voters opted for the '83 Redskins team that finished 14-2 and became the first NFL offense to put up 500 points in a single season. Joe Theismann was voted league MVP that year, and future Hall-of-Fame running back John Riggins powered his way to 1,347 yards and a remarkable 24 touchdowns running behind "The Hogs.''

Finishing a distant third was the best of Buffalo's four consecutive AFC championship teams, the 1990 Bills, who polled 9.9% of the vote. They led the league in scoring behind the K-Gun offense run by Jim Kelly and finished top 10 in defense. But they also lost to the Giants (can you spell spoilers?), 20-19, when Scott Norwood's last-second field goal attempt went WIDE RIGHT .

The 1969 Minnesota Vikings garnered only eight per cent of the vote, despite having a team that ranked first in scoring offense and first in scoring defense and that finished the regular season 12-2, yet only 7.4% of the poll respondent named them. Fiery quarterback Joe Kapp was voted the NFL's Most Valuable Player that season, and the Vikings were 12-point favorites to defeat the Kansas City Chiefs in Super Bowl IV ... only to lose 23-7 in the final NFL-AFL championship game.