Stabuach, Page receive Presidential Medal of Freedom

Minnesota Vikings great Alan Page received the Presidential Medal of Freedom on Friday.Photo Credit: John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports

Sports Xchange

Roger Staubach and Alan Page, both members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame, received the Presidential Medal of Freedom from President Donald Trump during a ceremony at the White House on Friday.

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is the nation’s highest civilian honor.

Staubach, who played quarterback for the Dallas Cowboys, graduated from the U.S. Naval Academy and served in the Navy during the Vietnam War before beginning his NFL career.

During his 11-year career with the Cowboys, he led Dallas to two Super Bowl titles while passing for 22,700 yards and 153 touchdowns. He also rushed for 2,264 yards for a 5.5-yard average and 20 touchdowns before retiring in 1979. He was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1985.

Page played 15 NFL seasons with the Minnesota Vikings and Chicago Bears at defensive tackle, developing a reputation as one of the league’s most fearsome pass rushers.

A nine-time Pro Bowl selection, Page was the NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 1971 and 1973, and was chosen the league’s Most Valuable Player in 1971. He was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1988.

After retiring from football, Page embarked on a legal career and served for more than two decades as a Minnesota Supreme Court justice.

Others honored with the Presidential Medal of Freedom during the ceremony were baseball great Babe Ruth of the New York Yankees; rock and roll legend Elvis Presley; Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia; Miriam Adelson, a doctor and wife of casino magnate Sheldon Adelson; and Utah Sen. Orrin Hatch, who is retiring after more than 41 years in the U.S. Senate.

Ruth, Presley and Scalia were honored posthumously.