HOF finalists, Class of 2019: 1st time eligibles Reed, Gonzalez Bailey on list

Frank Cooney

When the Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists for the Class of 2019 were announced Thursday, the list included three, first-time eligibles -- cornerback Champ Bailey, tight end Tony Gonzalez and safety Ed Reed.

Two-time Super Bowl champion coach Tom Flores and defensive lineman Richard Seymour were previously eligible, but this is their first time as finalists.

The Annual Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee Meeting will be held on Saturday, Feb. 2, 2019, in Atlanta when the 48-person Selection Committee meets to elect the Class of 2019.

The selectors will discuss the careers of each of the 18 finalists, including one senior player, safety Johnny Robinson, and contributors Gil Branch (team executive) and Pat Bowlen (team owner).

Although there is no set number for any class of enshrinees, the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s By-Laws stipulate that between four and eight new members will be selected each year. No more than five Modern-Era Finalists can be elected in a given year and thus a class of six, seven, or eight can only be achieved if the Senior Finalist and/or one or both Contributors Finalists are elected.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2019 will be announced during NFL Honors, a two-hour primetime awards special to air nationally on the eve of Super Bowl LIII at 9 p.m. (ET and PT) on CBS.

The Class of 2019 will be officially enshrined into the Hall of Fame during the spectacular Enshrinement Ceremony held inside Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium at Johnson Controls Hall of Fame Village in Canton on Saturday, Aug. 3. The Enshrinement is the main event of the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Enshrinement Week Powered by Johnson Controls.

Fifteen Finalists named Thursday:

--Steve Atwater, Safety - 1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets.

--Champ Bailey, Cornerback - 1999-2003 Washington Redskins, 2004-2013 Denver Broncos.

--Tony Boselli, Tackle - 1995-2001 Jacksonville Jaguars.

--Isaac Bruce, Wide Receiver - 1994-2007 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 2008-09 San Francisco 49ers.

--Don Coryell, Coach - 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers.

-- Alan Faneca, Guard - 1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona Cardinals.

Tom Flores, Coach - 1979-1987 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders, 1992-94 Seattle Seahawks.

--Tony Gonzalez, Tight End - 1997-2008 Kansas City Chiefs, 2009-2013 Atlanta Falcons.

--Steve Hutchinson, Guard - 2001-05 Seattle Seahawks, 2006-2011 Minnesota Vikings, 2012 Tennessee Titans.

--Edgerrin James, Running Back - 1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009 Seattle Seahawks.

--Ty Law, Cornerback - 1995-2004 New England Patriots, 2005, 2008 New York Jets, 2006-07 Kansas City Chiefs, 2009 Denver Broncos.

--John Lynch, Free Safety - 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos.

--Kevin Mawae, Center - 1994-97 Seattle Seahawks, 1998-2005 New York Jets, 2006-09 Tennessee Titans.

--Ed Reed, Safety - 2002-2012 Baltimore Ravens, 2013 Houston Texans, 2013 New York Jets.

--Richard Seymour, Defensive End/Defensive Tackle - 2001-08 New England Patriots, 2009-2012 Oakland Raiders.

The 15 Modern-Era Finalists join three other finalists to total 18 finalists under consideration for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2019.

One Senior Finalist was announced in August 2018 by the Seniors Committee that reviews the qualifications of those players whose careers ended more than 25 years ago.

--Johnny Robinson, Safety - 1960-1971 Dallas Texans/Kansas City Chiefs

Two Contributor Finalists, also announced in August, were selected by the Hall of Fame's Contributors Committee that considers persons, other than players and coaches, who made outstanding contributions to professional football.

--Pat Bowlen, Owner - 1984-Present Denver Broncos.

--Gil Brandt, Vice President of Player Personnel - 1960-1988 Dallas Cowboys; Contributor - 1995-present NFL.com

To be elected, a finalist must receive a minimum positive vote of 80 percent during the annual selection meeting.