Alliance of American Football opens season week after Super Bowl

Steve Spurrie built a powerhouse program at Florida and later had a successful run at South Carolina.Photo Credit: Matt Stamey-USA TODAY Sports

Sports Xchange

The Alliance of American Football will kick off its first season with a pair of games on Feb. 9, the weekend after Super Bowl LIII.

The eight-team league announced its 10-week, 40-game inaugural regular-season schedule on Tuesday.

The Atlanta Legends, who feature Brad Childress as their coach and Michael Vick as the offensive coordinator, will visit the Steve Spurrier-led Orlando Apollos on that Saturday.

Also on Saturday, the Mike Martz-led San Diego Fleet travel to San Antonio to face the Mike Riley-coached Commanders.

On Feb, 10, the Memphis Express will open their season at the Birmingham Iron while the Salt Lake Stallions visit the Arizona Hotshots.

“One of the driving factors behind the vision of The Alliance was the fact that millions of Americans simply stop watching sports and playing fantasy every February, the moment a Super Bowl champion is crowned,” said Charlie Ebersol, co-founder and CEO of The Alliance.

“There’s a significant void in the market that will now be filled with top-flight, professional football. The reception thus far in each of our eight markets has been tremendous, and unveiling our season one schedule is yet another significant milestone for the league. There are exciting matchups and storylines unfolding, and The Alliance is looking forward to giving fans exactly what they want — more football.”

The final regular-season weekend will be April 12-14, with playoffs to follow.

Former NFL general manager and Pro Football Hall of Famer Bill Polian is a founder of the league with Ebersol, while former NFL players Jared Allen, Troy Polamalu, Hines Ward and Justin Tuck are also involved.

The opening game will be televised in prime time on CBS as will the championship game during the weekend of April 26-28, while other games during the season will be telecast on CBS Sports Network.