T Joe Staley Named Finalist For 2018 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

San Francisco 49ers offensive tackle Joe Staley (74) during the third quarter against the Detroit Lions at Levi's Stadium.Photo: Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

Winner to be Revealed at NFL Honors Before Super Bowl LIII

San Francisco 49ers T Joe Staley has been selected as one of eight finalists for the fifth annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award for the fourth-consecutive season. The award was created in 2014 in honor of the founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney, Sr. It is presented annually to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

A panel comprised of Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin and Karl Mecklenburg selected the eight finalists from the 32 nominees, one from each NFL team. The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote on Friday, December 14. From the eight finalists, each team’s players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The winner selected by the vote of the players will be announced during the nationally televised NFL Honors show on Saturday, February 2 on CBS, the night before Super Bowl LIII. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. He will also receive a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.

2018 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award Finalists

Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints

Calais Campbell, Jacksonville Jaguars

Vernon Davis, Washington Redskins

Antonio Gates, Los Angeles Chargers

Andrew Luck, Indianapolis Colts

Joe Staley, San Francisco 49ers

Eric Weddle, Baltimore Ravens

Tramon Williams, Green Bay Packers